Martin St. Louis Shooting For A Second Art Ross

April 25, 2013 by The Hockey Daily

The great game of hockey has been graced with some very legendary players and without a doubt, Martin St. Louis is one of them. The former Hart Trophy winner could join some very elite company if he holds his lead on the league scoring race over the last few days of hockey. The accomplishment would be Marty’s second Art Ross putting him in some very elite company with names like Wayne Gretzky, Mario Lemieux and Bobby Orr.

Many great players have never won an Art Ross, let alone won two of them. Check out this list of Art Ross winners to see for yourself. You will find that Martin St. Louis won the award once before in the 2003-04 season. A few months later St. Louis won his name onto the Stanley Cup and the Hart Trophy for most valuable player in the league. Not bad for a guy who was never drafted. Players who have never won an Art Ross includes NHL legends like Joe Sakic, Mark Messier, Mike Bossy and current Tampa Bay Lightning general manager Steve Yzerman. Here is a list of players who have won the Art Ross more than once in the last fifty years:

Bobby Hull (2)

Stan Mikita (4)

Phil Esposito (5)

Bobby Orr (2)

Guy Lafleur (3)

Wayne Gretzky (12)

Mario Lemieux (6)

Jaromir Jagr (5)

Evgeni Malkin (2)

St. Louis could become the oldest player to win the Art Ross Trophy in NHL history. 

Martin St. Louis is an old man by NHL standards. At 37, the Lightning grey beard is competing for scoring titles with a bunch of twenty five and under first overall draft picks. And due to various circumstances he is ahead of them all. No one can deny Crosby would’ve run away with the title if he never took a slap shot to the face but that point is irrelevant now. Marty isn’t hurt and he is leading the league in points as a thirty seven year old. That’s significant. The oldest player to win the Art Ross Trophy is Gordie Howe who did it as a 34 year old in the wonderful year 1963.

The National Hockey League has been awarding the highest scoring player per season with the Art Ross since the 1947-48 season when Habs great Elmer Lach captured the prize at the age of 30. It’s been sixty-four years since Lach claimed the inaugural Art Ross and in that time the winner has been older than 30 a total of ten times. Older than 35 a total of zero times. Marty could be the first.

Some guys just don’t get enough credit and they’re usually playmakers for some reason. Martin St. Louis is more of a playmaker than a goal scorer and just like Adam Oates, Ron Francis and Doug Gilmour before him, he will probably never get the praise his peers of equal and sometimes lesser success will receive. But that’s okay, the numbers don’t lie and neither do the trophies. If St. Louis wins the Art Ross this season he will join the elite company mentioned above and further make his case as one of the game’s greats. I’m not saying St. Louis is completely overlooked as one of the best of his generation, but I am saying that if he played his whole career on the Habs, Leafs or Bruins there would probably be a statue of him somewhere by now.